Plants

Discover all the secrets of celery (Apium graveolens)

By Hervé , on July 27, 2021 , updated on April 21, 2023 - 6 minutes to read
Celery (Apium graveolens)

When to sow celery seeds?

Sowing: Celery root can be sown from mid-April to early June, in pots. Celery can be sown from February to April in a warm bed, in pots, in a greenhouse or in a bright, heated room. Sowing in a nursery is possible from mid-April to the end of May.

When is the best time to plant parsley?

Parsley is a leafy vegetable, like all aromatic and spice plants. However, it must be sown during the rising or ascending moon. Parsley can therefore be sown at any time of the year. It works best in spring and autumn, when the weather is cool.

When to sow celery with the moon?

Celery is a biennial plant grown for its stalks. Sow in March at rising moon in individual cups indoors, maintaining a temperature of at least 18°C until germination. In loose soil, plant the cuttings at the waning moon in May, cutting the main root to 4-5 cm.

Also see:   Growing and maintaining allspice (Capsicum) in your garden

How to sow celery for young plants?

Celery is an ideal vegetable for seasoning soups, sauces and stews. Sowing: from February to April in pots in a warm, light room. Plants should be transplanted twice before planting. Transplant in a sunny place, spacing the rows every 40 cm.

What does celery taste like?

Celery stalks have a strong flavor. It adds flavor to broth and various sauces, but can also be eaten raw in sticks and dipped in a cream-cheese sauce.

Can I eat the celery stalks?

And for the fanatics! You can eat them like celery stalks while they're still tender! If it's a bit too bitter in a salad, why not try pesto?

Why is celery dirty?

The high sodium content of celery, balanced by its high potassium content, makes it an interesting salty food for people with high blood pressure who need to limit their salt intake2.

How to cook celeriac?

How to cook celery?

  • In a saucepan. 10 minutes to let the flesh melt.
  • In a pressure cooker. 10 minutes to let the flesh melt.
  • In the oven. 20 minutes to prepare it like a gratin.

What are the different types of celery?

There are four main varieties of this species, three of which are widely cultivated:

  • graveolens: marsh celery ;
  • dulce : celery stalk or celeriac ;
  • rapaceum: celery or celeriac ;
  • secalinum: celeriac, or Chinese celery.
Also see:   Growing fennel: tips and tricks for a bountiful harvest

What are the benefits of celery?

Whether it's the root or the stalk, celery is not without nutritional value. Known as a diuretic, it is also one of the lowest calorie foods available. Another advantage is its richness in antioxidants.

What animal eats celery?

Celery is an important part of a pet rabbit's diet. It is a very popular vegetable with rabbits, who treat it as a delicacy.

How to recognize celery?

You can now learn all about celery: In the case of ribbed celery, it is the leaf stalk that is particularly large. In the case of celeriac, the root, which is already somewhat fleshy in the wild variety, has swollen considerably to become edible.

How to get good celery?

It is important to water them thoroughly and frequently, especially during the dry season. Avoid applying too much fertilizer so that the celery does not become "empty". To have beautiful vegetables at the end of the summer, don't forget to remove damaged leaves and roots.

How to grow a celery plant?

Place the bottom of the celery in a glass or jar, root side down, and fill with water so that the root is submerged. Place the celery in front of a window where it will receive a few hours of sunlight a day.

Which vegetable should be planted next to the celery?

Location and beneficial associations of celery It can also be associated with leeks, cucumbers, spinach, peas and tomatoes.

Also see:   Cardamom, a spice with multiple virtues

Celery is easy to grow from seed. To obtain healthy, vigorous plants, it's important to choose the right time to sow the seeds. Generally speaking, celery is sown between February and March under cover, or in the open ground from April onwards. However, it is possible to sow later depending on your region and climatic conditions. For successful sowing, maintain a constant temperature of around 20°C and water regularly, without wetting the leaves.

(Visited 12 times, 1 visits today)

Comments

Leave a comment

Your comment will be revised by the site if needed.

Plantes

Découvrez tous les secrets du céleri (Apium graveolens)

Par Hervé , le juillet 27, 2021 , mis à jour le avril 21, 2023 - 6 minutes de lecture
Céleri (Apium graveolens)

Quand semer les graines de céleri ?

Semis : Le céleri rave se sème de mi-avril à début juin, en pot. Le céleri peut être semé de février à avril sur un lit chaud, dans des pots, dans une serre ou dans une pièce lumineuse et chauffée. Le semis en pépinière est possible de mi-avril à fin mai.

Quelle est la meilleure période pour semer le persil ?

Le persil est un légume à feuilles, comme toutes les plantes aromatiques et à épices. Cependant, il doit être semé pendant la lune montante ou ascendante. Le persil peut donc être semé à tout moment de l’année. Il fonctionne mieux au printemps et en automne, lorsque le temps est frais.

Quand semer le céleri avec la lune ?

Le céleri est une plante bisannuelle cultivée pour ses tiges. Semer en mars à la lune montante, en godets individuels, à l’intérieur, en maintenant une température d’au moins 18°C jusqu’à la germination. Dans un sol meuble, plantez les coupes à la lune descendante en mai, en coupant la racine principale à 4-5 cm.

À voir aussi :   Découvrez les bienfaits de la Ruta (Ruta graveolens)

Comment semer le céleri pour les jeunes plants ?

Le céleri est un légume idéal pour assaisonner les soupes, les sauces et les ragoûts. Semis : de février à avril en pots dans une pièce chauffée et lumineuse. Les plantes doivent être repiquées deux fois avant d’être plantées. Repiquer dans un endroit ensoleillé, en espaçant de 30 cm les rangs tous les 40 cm.

Quel goût a le céleri ?

Les branches de céleri ont une saveur forte. Il ajoute de la saveur au bouillon et à diverses sauces, mais peut aussi être consommé cru en bâtonnets et trempé dans une sauce crème-fromage.

Peut-on manger les branches de céleri ?

Et pour les fanatiques ! Vous pouvez les manger comme des branches de céleri tant qu’elles sont encore tendres ! S’il est un peu trop amer dans une salade, pourquoi ne pas essayer le pesto ?

Pourquoi le céleri est-il sale ?

La teneur élevée en sodium du céleri, équilibrée par sa forte teneur en potassium, en fait un aliment salé intéressant pour les personnes souffrant d’hypertension artérielle qui doivent limiter leur consommation de sel2.

Comment cuisiner le céleri-branche ?

Comment cuire le céleri-branche ?

  • Dans une casserole. 10 minutes pour laisser fondre la chair.
  • Dans une cocotte-minute. 10 minutes pour laisser fondre la chair.
  • Dans le four. 20 minutes pour le préparer comme un gratin.

Quels sont les différents types de céleri ?

Il existe quatre variétés principales de cette espèce, dont trois sont largement cultivées :

  • graveolens : céleri des marais ;
  • dulce : branche de céleri ou céleri-rave ;
  • rapaceum : céleri ou céleri-rave ;
  • secalinum : céleri-rave, ou céleri chinois.
À voir aussi :   Mélisse officinale : une plante aux multiples vertus

Quels sont les bienfaits du céleri ?

Qu’il s’agisse de la racine ou de la tige, le céleri n’est pas dépourvu de valeur nutritionnelle. Connu comme un diurétique, c’est aussi l’un des aliments les moins caloriques qui existent. Un autre avantage est sa richesse en antioxydants.

Quel animal mange du céleri ?

Le céleri est un élément important de l’alimentation d’un lapin de compagnie. C’est un légume très apprécié des lapins, qui le traitent comme un mets délicat.

Comment reconnaître le céleri ?

Vous pouvez maintenant tout savoir sur le céleri : Dans le cas du céleri à côtes, c’est la tige de la feuille qui est particulièrement grande. Dans le cas du céleri-rave, la racine, qui est déjà un peu charnue dans la variété sauvage, a considérablement gonflé pour devenir comestible.

Comment obtenir un bon céleri ?

Il est important de les arroser abondamment et fréquemment, surtout pendant la saison sèche. Évitez d’appliquer trop d’engrais afin que le céleri ne devienne pas « vide ». Pour avoir de beaux légumes à la fin de l’été, n’oubliez pas d’enlever les feuilles et les racines endommagées.

Comment faire pousser un plant de céleri ?

Placez le bas du céleri dans un verre ou un pot, la racine vers le bas, et remplissez d’eau de façon à ce que la racine soit submergée. Placez le céleri en face d’une fenêtre où il recevra quelques heures de soleil par jour.

Quel légume doit être planté à côté du céleri ?

Localisation et associations bénéfiques du céleri Il peut également être associé aux poireaux, concombres, épinards, pois et tomates.

À voir aussi :   Le raifort, une plante aux multiples vertus

Le céleri est une plante qui se cultive facilement à partir de graines. Pour obtenir des plants sains et vigoureux, il est important de choisir la bonne période pour semer les graines. En général, le céleri se sème entre février et mars sous abri ou en pleine terre à partir d’avril. Cependant, il est possible de semer plus tard en fonction de votre région et des conditions climatiques. Pour réussir vos semis, veillez à maintenir une température constante d’environ 20°C et arrosez régulièrement sans mouiller les feuilles.

(Visited 12 times, 1 visits today)

Commentaires

Laisser un commentaire

Votre commentaire sera révisé par les administrateurs si besoin.