Plants

Discover all the secrets of marjoram

By Hervé , on July 27, 2021 , updated on April 21, 2023 - 6 minutes to read
Marjoram (Origanum majorana)

What is the difference between marjoram and oregano?

Oregano is a Mediterranean plant that grows mainly at high altitudes and can be recognized by its reddish stems and purple flowers. The leaves of marjoram are slightly more pointed and of a stronger green than those of marjoram.

What is the difference between oregano and thyme?

What is the difference between thyme and oregano? Taste and smell are the most distinctive characteristics, with thyme being a complex combination of sweet and peppery, as well as minty and citrus flavours, while oregano has a very strong, pungent and earthy taste.

How to recognize oregano?

How to recognize it ? Oregano has a reddish, straight, fairly rigid, upright stem. The leaves are whole, very slightly toothed and are opposite each other, so they are always opposite on the stem. At the top of the stem are inflorescences with many small pink flowers.

What is the name of the wild marjoram?

Oregano (Origanum vulgare) forms beautiful perennial clumps of downy, reddish, upright stems with small, oval, opposite, dark green leaves.

Also see:   Discover the multiple virtues of sesame seeds

What are the benefits of marjoram?

What are the benefits of marjoram: tonic, anti-stress and stimulating. Since Antiquity, marjoram has been indicated for people who are anxious, prone to digestive disorders or tremors. Marjoram warms the stomach, which allows a better digestion.

How to take marjoram?

Marjoram combines well with rosemary, thyme, tarragon, savory and sage, as well as paprika, and can be used to flavor oil or vinegar. It is also present in some teas, beers and liqueurs.

How to use marjoram flowers?

Marjoram is ideal for seasoning sauces, stews, soups and marinades. It is not as strong as oregano, but can be used to season pizzas. It can also be used to flavour oils and vinegars used to make salad dressings.

What type of exposure to marjoram?

Marjoram can be grown in well-drained, light, dry and fertile soil. Sand can be mixed into the soil. Tolerates chalky soil, stones and drought. Requires a warm, sunny, frost-free location.

Where is the best place to plant basil?

Basil prefers a sunny position, sheltered from wind and cold. It likes light, rather dry, well-drained and sufficiently rich soils. Basil is best planted in spring (April-May in the south), after the last frost.

What exhibition for the Monnaie?

However, soil that is too clayey or too dry is not recommended. The ideal exposure is partial shade, although mint can grow in the sun as long as it is not hot and the mint is sufficiently watered. Direct sunlight will stunt its growth and the mint will need more moisture.

Also see:   Growing parsley: tips and tricks for a successful harvest

When should marjoram be harvested?

Harvesting Marjoram The first harvest takes place 3 months after sowing, between summer and early autumn. The leaves can be eaten fresh or dried. To do so, spread the leaves out in a dark, dry place. As soon as the leaves are dry, place them in an airtight jar.

How to recognize marjoram?

How to recognize it ? Marjoram is a perennial plant. Its square stems bear small oval leaves. Its flowers are small, white or pink and grow in clusters.

How to use marjoram?

Marjoram is widely used in all kinds of sauces (tomato, fish, etc.), marinades, soups, stews and other simmered dishes. Marjoram goes well with vegetables, especially aubergines and courgettes.

When and how to prune marjoram?

Prune marjoram from late May to late June. Prune the clump to 15-20 cm to encourage regrowth. Use sharp, disinfected pruning shears or shears.

Marjoram has been known since antiquity for its medicinal properties. It has antispasmodic, calming and anti-inflammatory virtues. It can thus relieve menstrual pains, stomach aches or sleep disorders. In infusion or in essential oil, discover how to take the best advantage of the therapeutic benefits of this remarkable plant.

(Visited 19 times, 1 visits today)

Comments

Leave a comment

Your comment will be revised by the site if needed.

Plantes

Découvrez tous les secrets de la marjolaine

Par Hervé , le juillet 27, 2021 , mis à jour le avril 21, 2023 - 6 minutes de lecture
Marjolaine (Origanum majorana)

Quelle est la différence entre la marjolaine et l’origan ?

L’origan est une plante méditerranéenne qui pousse surtout en haute altitude et se reconnaît à ses tiges rougeâtres et à ses fleurs violettes. Les feuilles de la marjolaine sont légèrement plus pointues et d’un vert plus soutenu que celles de la marjolaine.

Quelle est la différence entre l’origan et le thym ?

Quelle est la différence entre le thym et l’origan ? Le goût et l’odeur sont les caractéristiques les plus distinctives, le thym étant une combinaison complexe de saveurs sucrées et poivrées, ainsi que de saveurs mentholées et d’agrumes, tandis que l’origan a un goût très prononcé, piquant et terreux.

Comment reconnaître l’origan ?

Comment le reconnaître ? L’origan a une tige rougeâtre, droite, assez rigide et dressée. Les feuilles sont entières, très légèrement dentées et sont opposées les unes aux autres, elles sont donc toujours opposées sur la tige. Au sommet de la tige se trouvent des inflorescences avec beaucoup de petites fleurs roses.

Comment s’appelle la marjolaine sauvage ?

L’Origan (Origanum vulgare) forme de belles touffes vivaces de tiges duveteuses, rougeâtres, dressées, avec de petites feuilles ovales, opposées, vert foncé.

À voir aussi :   Découvrez tous les secrets de la Livèche (Levisticum officinale)

Quels sont les bienfaits de la marjolaine ?

Quels sont les bienfaits de la marjolaine : tonique, anti-stress et stimulante. Depuis l’Antiquité, la marjolaine est indiquée pour les personnes anxieuses, sujettes à des troubles digestifs ou à des tremblements. La marjolaine réchauffe l’estomac, ce qui permet une meilleure digestion.

Comment prendre la marjolaine ?

La marjolaine se combine bien avec le romarin, le thym, l’estragon, la sarriette et la sauge, ainsi que le paprika, et peut être utilisée pour aromatiser l’huile ou le vinaigre. Il est également présent dans certains thés, bières et liqueurs.

Comment utiliser les fleurs de marjolaine ?

La marjolaine est idéale pour assaisonner les sauces, les ragoûts, les soupes et les marinades. Il est moins fort que l’origan, mais peut être utilisé pour assaisonner les pizzas. Il peut également être utilisé pour aromatiser les huiles et les vinaigres utilisés pour faire des vinaigrettes.

Quel type d’exposition à la marjolaine ?

La marjolaine peut être cultivée dans un sol bien drainé, léger, sec et fertile. Le sable peut être mélangé au sol. Tolère les sols calcaires, les pierres et la sécheresse. Requiert une position chaude et ensoleillée, à l’abri du gel.

Quel est le meilleur endroit pour planter du basilic ?

Le basilic préfère une position ensoleillée, à l’abri du vent et du froid. Il aime les sols légers, plutôt secs, bien drainés et suffisamment riches. Le basilic se plante de préférence au printemps (avril-mai dans le sud), après la dernière gelée.

Quelle exposition pour la Monnaie ?

Cependant, un sol trop argileux ou trop sec n’est pas recommandé. L’exposition idéale est une ombre partielle, bien que la menthe puisse pousser au soleil tant qu’il ne fait pas chaud et que la menthe est suffisamment arrosée. La lumière directe du soleil retardera sa croissance et la menthe aura besoin de plus d’humidité.

À voir aussi :   Anis vert (Pimpinella anisum) : une plante aux multiples facettes

Quand faut-il récolter la marjolaine ?

Récolte de la marjolaine La première récolte s’effectue 3 mois après le semis, entre l’été et le début de l’automne. Les feuilles peuvent être consommées fraîches ou séchées. Pour ce faire, étalez les feuilles dans un endroit sombre et sec. Dès que les feuilles sont sèches, placez-les dans un bocal hermétique.

Comment reconnaître la marjolaine ?

Comment le reconnaître ? La marjolaine est une plante vivace. Ses tiges carrées portent de petites feuilles ovales. Ses fleurs sont petites, blanches ou roses et poussent en grappes.

Comment utiliser la marjolaine ?

La marjolaine est largement utilisée dans toutes sortes de sauces (tomate, poisson, etc.), marinades, soupes, ragoûts et autres plats mijotés. La marjolaine se marie bien avec les légumes, notamment avec les aubergines et les courgettes.

Quand et comment tailler la marjolaine ?

Taillez la marjolaine de la fin mai à la fin juin. Taillez la touffe à 15-20 cm pour encourager la repousse. Utilisez des sécateurs ou des cisailles bien aiguisés et désinfectés.

La marjolaine est connue depuis l’Antiquité pour ses propriétés médicinales. Elle possède des vertus antispasmodiques, calmantes et anti-inflammatoires. Elle peut ainsi soulager les douleurs menstruelles, les maux d’estomac ou encore les troubles du sommeil. En infusion ou en huile essentielle, découvrez comment profiter au mieux des bienfaits thérapeutiques de cette plante remarquable.

(Visited 16 times, 1 visits today)

Commentaires

Laisser un commentaire

Votre commentaire sera révisé par les administrateurs si besoin.